Processing the Design Process

So I thought it would be prudent to upload my personal design process, much like many others, I follow a simple 8 step process. But first let me tell you that I have been looking around at some other design processes today and surprise surprise, they all have a very similar trend, I’ve found that the Design Council sums this all up in a handy little guide and description on their site. It breaks down the design process into 3 areas (Discover, Define and Develop) that are easy to remember. The 3 D’s are then broken down into sub categories to help you get to grips with this process of working. Below is their process and a link to the original. I strongly recommend having a full read through the original because they also break down each of the sub categories to help you better understand all these stages.

I will upload have uploaded my design process soon, but rather than just uploading a written list I’m going to create I have created a design and presented it visually, when now It’s done you’ll find it Here.

Introducing Design Methods | Design Council

Discover

Creating a project space

Observation

User diaries

Being your users

Brainstorming

Fast visualization

Choosing a sample

Quantitative surveys

Secondary research

Hopes and fears

Define

Assessment criteria

Comparing notes

Drivers and hurdles

Focus groups

Customer journey mapping

Develop

Character profiles

Scenarios

Role playing

Blueprinting

Physical prototyping

One thought on “Processing the Design Process

Leave a Reply

